allansells2
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 5:12 pm

Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

This is a weird issue. I have a few thumbnails on a page. And when i click on the 2nd or nth thumbnail, highslide loads beautifully but the thumbstrip marker indicating which thumbnail i've chosen points to the first thumbnail. To make this easy its happening on one of your examples: examples/gallery-horizontal-strip.html. It only happens on my local machine in Google Chrome. It works fine in IE and Firefox.

When i go to the highslide website, all of your examples work properly. I've tried deleting the highslide directory and installing the latest version. What am I doing wrong?

Allan
seba
Posts: 4415
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

How we can reproduce your issue, it is possible to prepare us example which doesnt work? Have you any errors in the console?
Sebastian Bochan
Highcharts Developer
MisterNeutron
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

I'm seeing exactly the same thing, and only in Chrome. This example works fine when viewed from the web:

http://highslide.com/examples/gallery-h ... strip.html

But the same example, when viewed locally (from the Highslide JS download), produces a mis-positioned thumbstrip. It corrects itself if you go to the next image, and is fine from then on. It's only when you first click a thumbnail that the problem appears.

(This is very much like an old problem with webkit browsers that produced a similar failure. But in that case, it was a conflict with AdBlock. That's not the case this time - this error shows up even with all Chrome extensions disabled.)
MisterNeutron
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

Some quick testing: the problem shows up in Chrome33 both on Win7/64 and OSX 10.9.2. Oddly, it's OK in Safari.
MisterNeutron
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

Nothing? No help? Just hoping that a browser update will make it magically go away?
seba
Posts: 4415
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

I run your example in Chrome (33.0.1750.152) MacOSX 10.9.2 and works properly, a have no any errors.
Sebastian Bochan
Highcharts Developer
MisterNeutron
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

I'm guessing that you're running it from the web, right? It fails only when running the example locally, from your own C: drive.

Here's what it looks like: Image
seba
Posts: 4415
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

You are right, quiate strange issue, because in FF works fine, but in Chrome nope. I have forwared this topic to the second line of support. Someone will contact with you as soon as possible.
Sebastian Bochan
Highcharts Developer
MisterNeutron
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

It's a fairly minor issue, since people are usually not accessing a page locally, though if you're distributing something on a CD-ROM, it could be a problem. And it corrects itself as soon as you go to another image - it's only the very first thumbnail you click that produces the error.

Still worth hunting down and fixing, however, since it's the sort of error that may reveal a larger underlying problem in the script's interaction with the browser.
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

I think I've seen this before - the problem probably is that the browser is unable to tell the size of the image when it lays out the thumbstrip. The images are loading too fast, so the size is not available.

I believe we worked around this earlier by setting a fixed size to the thumbnails:

Code: Select all

<img src='../images/thumbstrip01.thumb.png' alt='Mountain valley' style="width: 100px; height: 75px"/></a>
Torstein Hønsi
CTO, Founder
Highsoft
MisterNeutron
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

Sorry I didn't get back to this one - not sure how I missed the response.

In any event, that approach isn't workable. Providing a "style" attribute for the anchor thumbnails forces the thumbstrip thumbnails to be the same size as the anchor thumbnails, which isn't what one would want. It also doesn't eliminate the error.
MisterNeutron
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Thumbstrip Issue with Google Chrome

FWIW, this issue is no longer present in Chrome (v. 44). No guarantee it won't show up again in a future release, of course, but one can certainly hope. :)

Return to “Highslide JS Usage”