It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:32 pm Advanced search

Version 4.0 beta published

News and announcements from the author.

Version 4.0 beta published

Postby torstein.honsi » Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:32 pm

I am happy to invite you all to test the first beta for version 4.0. I have set up a test page that shows some of the new stuff. If you study the source code you will get an idea of what new options are available. There is still some way to go before the stable version, but from this demo you know what you can expect, and you can download the file and play with the options.
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9189
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Version 4 Beta

Postby Granville » Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:31 pm

Hi
Just seen the test page - bloody hell that looks good. :D

Will give it a go on my site.

Best wishes
Granville
Enjoy each day as it comes.
User avatar
Granville
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby traveljunkie » Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:33 am

Awesome Torstein!. I'll give it a go :)
User avatar
traveljunkie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 11:47 am

Postby Ganryu » Thu Jun 26, 2008 1:56 pm

It seems so great !

Thank you. It is soon to be implemented... :-)
Ganryu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:56 pm

Version 4.0 beta published - feedback

Postby Granville » Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:12 pm

Hi
Got the beta version working, on my Photo Gallery. Encountered a few problems, but eventually sorted them out and it had nothing to do with Highslide.

I use a jquery accordian menu option, which in turns calls an ajax page containing the gallery thumbnails, there are a few gallerys, and I couldn't understand when running the slideshow, the first gallery you select always ran.

The slide show option for each gallery needs a unique slideshowGroup, so I just assigned today.toString(), and that cured it.

I tried to use the Dean Edwards packer utility and that seemed to cause some problems, however, it might be me, so I'm going to try again.

The transitions are great - you think you were running a Flash program!

Next step is to try loading html pages, don't think I'll have any problems though.


Excellent script

Regards

Granville

Granville
Enjoy each day as it comes.
User avatar
Granville
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

bug with cssgarden and version highslide 3

Postby danou9 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:21 am

Excuse my english
Your version 4 corrects a bug with csszengarden templates a reference with CSS.

With version 3, when you resize a popup moving outside the right screen you have a display problem (all browsers).
The best is to see a screen shot :
http://www.mjc-lebeausset.fr/copy1.jpg
http://www.mjc-lebeausset.fr/copy2.jpg

Do you resolve this problem with version 4?
danou9
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Toulon france

Postby torstein.honsi » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:06 pm

danou9, I don't see this happening in my examples. It might relate to the CSS in those templates. Do you have a link to a live page where it happens?
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9189
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

css garden

Postby danou9 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 3:31 pm

Thank you for your reply.

The link to see the problem :
http://www.mjc-lebeausset.fr/zengarden.html

The html file comes from the site cssgarden
the css file comes from :
http://www.csszengarden.com/?cssfile=017/017.css

This css file have problem
I tried some other with no problem.

With your version 4, there is no problem with this css!

The links are in the middle of the page
For the demonstration there is no images

Best regards
danou9
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Toulon france

Controlbar and resize button problem

Postby traveljunkie » Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:29 pm

Hello Torstein,

finally got a chance to play around with version 4.0. I got the basics to work. The controlbar and resize buton prove to be a bit elusive, though. I've got this in my head.

Code: Select all
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/travelogues/wp-content/plugins/highslide/highslide.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="/travelogues/wp-content/plugins/highslide/highslide.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
   if (hs.registerOverlay) hs.registerOverlay({
       slideshowGroup: 'group1',
       overlayId: 'test-overlay',
       position: 'bottom right',
       hideOnMouseOut: false,
        opacity: 0.85
   });
    if (hs.addSlideshow) hs.addSlideshow({
        slideshowGroup: 'group1',
        interval: 5000,
        repeat: false,
        useControls: true,
        overlayOptions: {
           opacity: .75,
           position: 'bottom center',
           hideOnMouseOut: true
      },
      fixedControls: true
    });
   
    hs.dragHeader = true;
    hs.slideshowGroup = 'group1';
    hs.graphicsDir = '/travelogues/wp-content/plugins/highslide/graphics/';
    hs.align = 'center';
    hs.outlineType = 'glossy-dark';
    hs.showCredits = false;
    hs.captionOptions.position = 'below';
    hs.headerEval = 'this.thumb.title';
    hs.number = 'header';
    hs.skin.number = 'Image %1 of %2 ';
    hs.fadeInOut = true;
</script>


and this in my footer:
Code: Select all
<div id="test-overlay" class="highslide-overlay highslide-resize"></div>


All just copied from your example page. A little hint would be greatly appreciated. Can't give you a link, as it's all local for now.

Cheers,
Boris
User avatar
traveljunkie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 11:47 am

Postby jerry2 » Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:47 pm

Is there any hint how soon will the 4.0 be released? I understand you can not know, but I mean just... is it looking to be out this summer, autumn, winter?
jerry2
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:03 pm

Postby torstein.honsi » Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:28 pm

Boris, are you sure you have the graphics as referred to in the CSS? The controlbar has one graphic where all the buttons are defined.
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9189
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Postby torstein.honsi » Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:29 pm

Jerry2, it is during the summer. I only have one major bug left to hunt down, namely the captions and overlays not working properly in Safari.
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9189
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Postby jerry2 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:16 pm

Thanx. Is the beta version on your beta show page getting updated regularly?
jerry2
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:03 pm

Width of rightpanel caption?

Postby webacad » Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:43 am

I'm using the rightpanel caption position on an image expander. I'm putting a bunch of HTML (images, links, etc.) into the caption. I can't figure out how to control the size of the expander. Its height seems to be fixed at the height of the full-size image. The width is the width of the image plus around 200px.

I really want the expander to be a fixed size (say 600px wide and 350px high) with the image constrained to half the width.

It looks like the ability to control the size of the expander only works with HTML content, not with an image.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
webacad
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:38 am

Postby torstein.honsi » Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:42 am

jerry2: Yes, it will be updated regularly.

webacad: The width is by default 200px, but you can adjust that by setting hs.captionOptions.width = '600px'. The height is constrained to the height of the image to avoid problem with the positioning of other overlays above and below the image. For more fine grained control over this, you should consider using a HTML expander.
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9189
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Next

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests