It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:40 am Advanced search

Highslide goes AJAX

News and announcements from the author.

Highslide goes AJAX

Postby torstein.honsi » Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:09 pm

The new version 3.2.0 provides AJAX support for Highslide HTML popups. This is generally a smoother and better alternative to iframes.

To reduce server traffic and increase speed, the new version also uses only one graphic to display the outlines. Please note that the /graphics/outline directory content has to be updated upon upgrading from previous versions.
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Postby piran » Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:36 pm

FF2.0.0.5 changes images really slowly on big albums.
Whereas IE6 is OK (quick) doing the same.
Memory leak or maybe I have to look elsewhere?
----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby torstein.honsi » Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:42 pm

Is this new to Highslide v3.2 or was it like that in earlier versions as well?
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Postby piran » Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:55 pm

New, it was fast in FF always in 3.1.10.
Possibly the way I have reprogrammed due the new version?
Or maybe the software version update on the server this morning.
Or maybe it's not my day;~/
Have sent some links by PM.
----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby piran » Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:08 pm

Torstein----

I added this in v.3.1.10:
Code: Select all
WAS
HsExpander.prototype.writeCaption = function() {
   try {
      this.wrapper.style.width = this.wrapper.offsetWidth +'px';   

NOW
HsExpander.prototype.writeCaption = function() {
   try {
      this.caption.innerHTML += this.content.src;
      this.wrapper.style.width = this.wrapper.offsetWidth +'px';   

...is it still OK for v3.2 to show the full URL (as a caption)?

Way too many changes here today;~|

----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby torstein.honsi » Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:26 pm

This should work nicely. this.content.src still goes.

As for the speed issue, I can't see any difference. The big album still loads fast on my Firefox 2.0.0.5.
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Postby piran » Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:29 pm

Torstein----
I think you're right, my logs show you changing between
images - quicker than ME right here on the server's intranet.
Will reload and see if I have a rogue plugin. Will return soon.
----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby piran » Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:43 pm

Torstein----
Things are in a mess;~(
For instance I can't even get your site up correctly... banner image?
Am losing 1kB per picture change on that big album here on my site.
Having a bad day - server software change AND ISP dropping my comms.
Looking at the good news, maybe it's just my editing workstation.
Your browsing seems to have proved out the server and comms.
The workstation's anti virus (Clamwin) changed today, also several FF
plugins... I REALLY hope it's just the workstation stuff!
----best wishes, Robert

(postedit: 2007-07-27 0856hrs your site's banner image now shows properly)
Last edited by piran on Fri Jul 27, 2007 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby piran » Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:08 pm

Torstein----

Reboot didn't resolve.
Nor did a plugin disable (FlashBlock) which updated itself today.
Am loathe to disable my anti virus which updated overnight...
And the new server software seems solid (as I would expect).
Just leaves Highslide v3.2 and/or my various blundering
reworkings to use it along with the (new) HTML/Ajax extensions.

A 600+ image display wedding album is pretty much unworkable
locally on my workstation using FF2.0.0.5 and HS3.2.0, whereas
it zings along locally using IE6.

Not counting the 'apparent' memory leak effect (FF).

Would you prefer me to stick with this and try to help you out?
Or shall I try a reversion down to Highslide v3.1.10?

----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby alakhnor » Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:24 pm

Overlays fade in and out.

What do you mean by that?
alakhnor
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: Lyon

Postby piran » Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:31 pm

Torstein----

Have reverted to v3.1.10 - just the highslide.js file - I kept a copy.

Local operations using FF immediately recovered to their usual speed.
Afraid you have an issue with my specific use of a very slightly modified
edition of HS3.2.0 in local intranet use with FF2.0.0.5 and on large albums.

Haven't looked at the memory leak flavoured issue as FF (here) seems
to just get more and more bloated as it is used. Frequently I have to exit
just to stop the latency buildup during intensive site/database editing.

Anything I can do to help...?

----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby piran » Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:09 am

Torstein-----
I need to get with your Ajax stuff so I have slotted v3.2.0 back in.
The issues persist. Hope the following observation is significant for
your investigation: Before the end of the strange latency period,
before the next image expands, the background screen focus
changes for the remaining thumbnails. It's as though I had pressed
the PageDown key (I didn't). So... another issue;~/ It only happens
if I use the keyboard to advance, if I continue with the pen and dab
away onscreen at the graphical arrows then the background screen
focus remains as it should. Something inserts a logical PageDown or
perhaps Ctrl-End function in addition to accepting my key press for
sequence advance. Maybe I edit with IE6 until you are able to repair
v3.2.0;~)
----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby piran » Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:21 am

Torstein----
Another keyboard focus observation: the UP key works the sequence
advance as a LEFT function (that's OK) but the background thumbnail
mass also moves up too. The DOWN key does similarly RIGHT and
down. Whereas in IE6 the sequence moves similarly/properly but the
background stays still. My interpretation is that you are not buffering
the keyboard in FF(2.0.0.5) but you do in IE6. Whether that helps you
fix the pregnant latency delay in moving the sequence forwards,
backwards and exit functions I don't know;~)
----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby piran » Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:24 am

Torstein----
I don't propose to investigate the possible memory leak issue until
the latency is fixed. The wait between picture changes causes a
strange influence on me and I start to lose the will to live...
I have much else to do as well.
----best wishes, Robert
User avatar
piran
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:04 am
Location: Cornwall

Postby torstein.honsi » Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:29 am

Hello Piran,

Honestly, I have not been able to reconstruct your memory leaks in Firefox 2.0.0.5. I have cycled through the first 64 pictures in your school reunion gallery, and Firefox didn't go up at all!

My best guess is that there is something hanging in a cache somewhere.

I see the mouseclick handler doesnt prevent default actions properly. I will fix this.
User avatar
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Next

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests