nicki

Is this beyond a 'normal' person?

Hi,
I have basic HTML knowledge and have been running a website for over a year with no huge problems (creating pages typing in the code as and when needed etc and then uploading via ftp). I am now tasked with designing a website for an organisation. They want lots of interactive charts on their site. They have insisted on using wordpress.org (costs). I have two problems.
1. I don't even know where to begin on the high charts installation. As I am using wordpress I don't know where to begin looking for the code to insert the installation codes into.
2. I have seen lots of dialogue that suggests that Highcharts will not work with Wordpress due to JavaScript/Wordpress issues and cannot find advice on plugin solutions.

So I am slightly stuck as to what to do. Should I continue to try to work with high charts (do I have enough knowledge to even attempt to?) ? They want the full interactivity with users having the ability to customise the graphs to their own spec. and I can't find software other than high charts that has this level of interactivity. Can this be conquered by a mere mortal and if it can can it even be used in Wordpress sites?

Any help/advice/derision gratefully received

Cheers, Nicki :oops:
Gert Vaartjes

Re: Is this beyond a 'normal' person?

Hi I recently installed Highcharts in Wordpress. So I think I can help you. There are actually various ways for using Javascript in Wordpress, but this method is very basic and easy to understand.

These are the steps to be taken.

1. Upload the javascript files to %YOUR_TEMPLATE_DIR%\js

2. Open the header.php file and insert this for loading Highcharts in all pages.

Code: Select all

<script type='text/javascript' src="<?php bloginfo('template_directory'); ?>/js/highcharts.2.5.js"></script>
<script type='text/javascript' src="<?php bloginfo('template_directory'); ?>/js/hc-config.js"></script>
or just for specific pages, do it like this;