It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:14 am Advanced search

Reading down CSV file makes each value its own series

Technical support for the Highcharts Stock package

Reading down CSV file makes each value its own series

Postby robertmgibson » Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:16 pm

This may be a relatively simple query, if so, I apologise. I am new to Highstock/Highcharts and experimenting with them. LOVE the appearance and way they seem to work, just need a bit of help to get started...

I'm trying to get the Highstock to output a simple line graph to start with. And I want it to read data from a CSV file. I have a file with weekly values which I want rendered as a line graph, with X axis being the time values (shown in the first column), y being the series values (in column 2). The data on the CSV file is arranged VERTICALLY (which must be pretty standard for data of this sort, I'd have thought). Using the Highcharts example for parsing CSV data, I get an output in which each data point is treated as a separate series, 786 of them in fact!

I suppose I could try to reorient the data on the CSV file to be horizontal (in fact I have done so successfully with a small sample of data), but don't really want to as this would be tricky, given the underlying files that I want to feed into the CSV. Am I missing a relatively simple adjustment in the CSV parsing example that you give?

Grateful for any pointer...
robertmgibson

Re: Reading down CSV file makes each value its own series

Postby robertmgibson » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:36 pm

OK, I think I have found a semi-solution from someone who had a similar issue (actually pair of issues): 1) transposing vertically-arranged columns of data into rows; 2) parseing dates such that they can be used as values for the xAxis. The example can be found on http://jsfiddle.net/Uufmn/.